Pauls Valley, OK, Pauls Valley Democrat

December 11, 2012

School races now look set

Staff Reports
Pauls Valley Democrat

Pauls Valley, Oklahoma — After all the filings and a single candidate withdrawal the final list shows there’s still a handful of school board races in place for districts in Garvin County.

When the three-day period for the school filings closed on Dec. 5 there were a total of four races lined up for elections in February.

A race in the Elmore City-Pernell district was altered with candidate Gary Moore withdrawing his name from consideration just one day after the filings ended.

The race for the five-year office on the ECP school board is now between Derrick Tadlock and Joe Lewis.

Three candidates remain for a five-year office in Wynnewood. They include Terry Brown, A. John Geiger and Donnie Rollings.

Another race in Wynnewood, this one for a three-year unexpired term, is being contested by Brittany Pittman and Pat LaMascus.

One of the three school board posts in Maysville included in the filings now has a race.

That contest for a three-year unexpired term in Maysville includes Cindy White and Tyler Dean.

Maysville offices with only one candidate filing were David Riley (five-year term) and Asheley Close (two-year unexpired term).

One race that didn’t develop was in Pauls Valley as incumbent Michelle Wood was unopposed  in winning another five-year term.

Also winning without an opponent was Brent Thompson at Whitebead. The office is a three-year term.

Others going unopposed were Jason Korzan in Stratford and Janiece Goldsmith in Paoli. Both are five-year school board offices.

The school board races that developed will be contested during an annual school election scheduled for Feb. 12, 2013. Any school runoff election would come on April 2, 2012.

Looking ahead the filings for local municipal offices next year will come Feb. 4-6, 2013.