Pauls Valley, OK, Pauls Valley Democrat

October 10, 2013

Maysville voters make their choices

Staff Reports
Pauls Valley Democrat

Pauls Valley, Oklahoma — Maysville voters had the final say this week as they selected the trio of candidates who will next step in to serve on the local town council.

There wasn’t much choice in one race with one candidate dropping out early out of the three vying for two seats on the Maysville Board of Trustees, while another was never really a contest.

After the votes were counted from Tuesday’s election the three candidates claiming wins were Bryson S. Tate, David Uhles and Debra Degering.

Tate and Uhles were the obvious choices for two of the vacant seats as a third candidate, Michael Park, withdrew from the race early.

Uhles finished with the most votes in the race, 58 in all, closely followed by Tate with 53.

Although not officially in the race anymore because of his withdrawal, Park still collected 19 votes since his name was on the ballot.

In the race for a third spot on the Maysville board it was Degering who easily outdistanced Richard Duane Robinson by a 60 to 16 vote count.

The election had become necessary after three of Maysville’s previous trustees resigned from their offices.

Another election on the way is for Pauls Valley voters.

On the Nov. 12 ballot here in PV is a measure calling for a local half cent sales tax that if passed will go to support the operations of Pauls Valley General Hospital.

Local voters are reminded the deadline to register to vote or get voter registrations changed before this election is Oct. 18.

The deadline to request mailed absentee ballots is Nov. 6.

A change will come with this next round of in-person absentee voting at the Garvin County Election Board office in the county courthouse.

With a new law taking effect on Nov. 1 the early voting days are moving to Thursday and Friday, Nov. 7-8.

Election officials stress the absentee voting will not be available on the Monday before the election.

For more information contact the Election Board in Pauls Valley.