Pauls Valley, OK, Pauls Valley Democrat

December 9, 2013

PV among school board races

PV Democrat Staff
Pauls Valley Democrat

Pauls Valley, Oklahoma — A trio of school board races in Garvin County, including one in Pauls Valley, looks to be on the ballot for an election next year.

Joe Don Looney, president of the Pauls Valley Board of Education, drew two opponents as he filed this week seeking another five-year term.

With the three-day filing period ending this week, the two challengers for the office are Brandi Harris and Randy McGee.

The three look to be set for a school election on Feb. 11, 2014, while a runoff date is April 1.

Craig Ensey was unopposed as he filed for the unexpired term of the office formerly held by Michelle Wood.

Wood, a longtime board member, resigned in September when she and her family moved closer to Paoli and outside of the local school district.

Ensey was appointed to her office in early October to essentially serve out this first year of Wood’s full five-year term.

With this week’s filings Ensey earns the office for the remainder of the term.

Maysville was the other area town drawing races — two of them to be exact.

For the No. 4 office on Maysville’s school board Vickie Foraker and Cindy Wilmot filed to run for a five-year term.

Tyler W. Dean and Heidi Gamble filed for the unexpired term of the No. 2 office on the Maysville board.

Several other school board offices were won unopposed in districts throughout the county.

Everett Plummer earned a three-year term in Whitebead, Tony Davis a five-year term in Elmore City-Pernell, Adrianne Olguin in Paoli (five-year term), Terry Brown in Wynnewood, John D. Cothren in Stratford (five-year term) and John Harrison in Lindsay (five-year term).