Pauls Valley, OK, Pauls Valley Democrat

April 11, 2013

Great grades grab the spotlight

Barry Porterfield
Pauls Valley Democrat — It was a time to honor the “idea of excellence” as a group Pauls Valley students stepped into the spotlight Wednesday to be honored for their achievements in the classroom.

Local junior and senior honor students gathered with their families and others in the school’s auditorium as the Pauls Valley Foundation for Academic Excellence handed out honors and scholarships.

A total of 21 PVHS seniors and 18 juniors were formally honored for achieving a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.8 or higher on a 4-point scale.

Three of the students also received scholarships, while a list of PV and Whitebead teachers were recognized for receiving foundation grants allowing them to bring a special project to their students.

Allison Dunham, a board member at various times since the foundation’s start more than two decades ago, believes the students are what this is all about.

“We gave about $13,000 in teacher grants for this school year,” Dunham said.

“It’s about the kids. What’s important here are the kids and the teachers,” she said.

“It’s about giving teachers a chance to do some things for their kids with projects above and beyond what the school can fund.”

Examples would be field trips, such as a group of PV kids attending plays in Oklahoma City, or bringing authors and other speakers to offer some of their insight to local students.

“It’s just whatever teachers can come up with. It’s about their creativity,” Dunham said.

Seniors honored for having a 4.0 GPA were Meredith Agee, Desa Brewer, Jessica Carlton, JC Eyabi, Micah Godfrey, Jackson Higginbottom, Cherykee Humphrey, Kristina Mayfield, Ashton Morris and Kelsey Morris.

Other seniors with a 3.8 GPA or higher are Rachel Mantooth, Kaylie Wolfe, Mikayla Peters, Amber Fields, Dustin Ashley, Emily Watson, Logan Sharp, Elissa Nobles, Kylie Wolfe, Maryah Blood and Kenzie Akers.

Juniors with a 4.0 GPA are Landry Briscoe, Maranda Clymer, Sasha Cox, Matthew Henry, Caleb Jones, Kaylee Jones, Sierra Mullen, Kevin Ramirez-Mendoza and Madison Wolf.

Other junior honor students are Darrik Brewer, Amber Campell, Kaci Holt, Brooke Schuller, James Williams, Whittni Huckabaa, Kelsey Quigg, Braeden Carter and Jacob McCarty.

A total of three scholarships were awarded by the foundation, including $500 to Desa Brewer and $1,000 to Meredith Agee

A third one honoring the late Bill Humphrey totaled $1,500 and was awarded to Jackson Higginbottom

“I think it’s the most rewarding organization to be a member of, and I’ve served on a lot of boards and committees,” Dunham said about the academic foundation.

“It’s just rewarding to me personally,” she said. “And it’s nice to recognize these kids for their good grades.”