Pauls Valley, OK, Pauls Valley Democrat

Local News

February 7, 2013

Filings change city races in big way — Things changed dramatically on Wednesday’s final day of municipal filings as a handful of area cities like Pauls Valley now have races set.

Although candidates have until Friday to withdraw, the three-day filing period resulted in municipal races being lined up for this spring in PV, Elmore City, Stratford and Lindsay.

The first two days of the filings ended with no races for a couple of city council offices in PV. Now there are two races as three candidates filed for one office, while two candidates signed up for the other.

In both cases the incumbent looks to earn another four-year term as both Mayor Tim Gamble and Councilman Hal Blevins filed on Wednesday.

Also filing on the last day was Patrick Grimmett, who is now set to oppose Gamble for his office during an election on April 2.

As for Blevins, both he and Zachary Brumley filed for the Place 4 office, currently held by Blevins, on Wednesday, while the first to file for the office was Jeff Paine.

A total of three races are currently set in Elmore City.

One is between Searcy J. Simmons Jr. and David K. Schmidt for the Ward 1 office on EC’s town council. The office has a four-year term.

Filing for the Ward 4 two-year unexpired term on the council are Tim Clark, Tony E. Brister and Victoria Wampler.

Incumbent mayor in Elmore City, Larry Dale Cleveland, is now set to go against Joel E. Crawford.

Other EC filings include Randal McFadden for the Ward 3 council office and Joseph Henslee for marshall.

The single race in Stratford is for town treasurer between Sharon Bellew and David Alberson.

In Lindsay a total of five candidates have filed for four posts on the city council there.

Lindsay candidates include Brandon Fentem, Anthony Adams, Todd Hinckley, Jake Pool and Betty L. Foster. The election there will be contested on March 5.

Filing in Wynnewood are Gail Mayberry (Council Ward 1), Ramon Airington (Council Ward 2), J.T. Blackwood (Council Ward 3), Sonny Hays (Council Ward 4), Josh Moore (2-year unexpired term Council Ward 3), Dennis Cain (2-year-unexpired term Council Ward 4) and Beverly Badgley (City Clerk-Treasurer).

Unopposed filings in Maysville are Michael Hunter, Diana Tarrant and Charles Griffin for four-year council seats and two-year unexpired terms for Kurt Widmer (Board of Trustees) and Patricia Brahic (Town Clerk-Treasurer).

The filings in Paoli include Lesana Carter for a four-year town board seat and Marc Davis for a two-year unexpired term on the board.

Other Stratford filings are Mark Hanson and Bob McAlister for full terms on the town council and Fred Stephens for a two-year unexpired term on the council.

Text Only
Local News
  • Winners plentiful at peach festival

    With no shortage of visitors making the Stratford Peach Festival a summer destination, it was a win-win situation for all parties this past weekend.

    July 24, 2014

  • Indian Meridian and Grant Wreck Indian Meridian and Grant Wreck


    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Search on for new 911 boss

    The search for a replacement is now on after it was announced the coordinator of Garvin County’s 911 center is stepping down.

    July 24, 2014

  • Stratford Peach Festival 2014 PeachFest draws big crowd

    Unseasonably comfortable weather, a day full of family fun and one of the best fruit crops in recent years. Mix that together and you have one of the best-attended Stratford Peach Festival’s on record.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ‘Evening in the Valley’ set

    It might still be summer but some in Pauls Valley already have an eye on a new school year right around the corner.

    July 23, 2014

  • PV City meetings set for 6 tonight

    The Pauls Valley City Council, PV Hospital Authority and Municipal Authority have set their meetings at city hall at 6 p.m. Tuesday.

    July 22, 2014

  • DHS Caregiver Awards Love of client pales next to awards

    On any given day one can find a good story about caregivers going the extra mile to meet the needs of acutely disabled individuals.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brain Tumor Fundraiser Life battle leads to higher calling

    A Pauls Valley woman’s battle with a brain tumor has led her to what could turn out to be a higher calling.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Na na na na na na na BAT KID Big birthday salute to Batman

    The Dark Knight, better known as the superhero Batman, will soon get a special salute in Pauls Valley for his birthday.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • PVGH ready to dive into community interaction

    The biggest developments at Pauls Valley General Hospital continue to be the big moves and purchases necessary to bring the facility up to date.

    July 18, 2014

Business Marquee

  • How You Want It When You Want It Today's Pauls Valley Democrat

    Now you can view and download the Democrat right to your desktop on the day the paper is published. Click here to get more information on the Democrat's e-Edition.





    e-mail request to

    April 20, 2011 1 Photo 1 Link

AP Video
Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee