Pauls Valley, OK, Pauls Valley Democrat

February 7, 2013

Filings change city races in big way

Barry Porterfield
Pauls Valley Democrat — Things changed dramatically on Wednesday’s final day of municipal filings as a handful of area cities like Pauls Valley now have races set.

Although candidates have until Friday to withdraw, the three-day filing period resulted in municipal races being lined up for this spring in PV, Elmore City, Stratford and Lindsay.

The first two days of the filings ended with no races for a couple of city council offices in PV. Now there are two races as three candidates filed for one office, while two candidates signed up for the other.

In both cases the incumbent looks to earn another four-year term as both Mayor Tim Gamble and Councilman Hal Blevins filed on Wednesday.

Also filing on the last day was Patrick Grimmett, who is now set to oppose Gamble for his office during an election on April 2.

As for Blevins, both he and Zachary Brumley filed for the Place 4 office, currently held by Blevins, on Wednesday, while the first to file for the office was Jeff Paine.

A total of three races are currently set in Elmore City.

One is between Searcy J. Simmons Jr. and David K. Schmidt for the Ward 1 office on EC’s town council. The office has a four-year term.

Filing for the Ward 4 two-year unexpired term on the council are Tim Clark, Tony E. Brister and Victoria Wampler.

Incumbent mayor in Elmore City, Larry Dale Cleveland, is now set to go against Joel E. Crawford.

Other EC filings include Randal McFadden for the Ward 3 council office and Joseph Henslee for marshall.

The single race in Stratford is for town treasurer between Sharon Bellew and David Alberson.

In Lindsay a total of five candidates have filed for four posts on the city council there.

Lindsay candidates include Brandon Fentem, Anthony Adams, Todd Hinckley, Jake Pool and Betty L. Foster. The election there will be contested on March 5.

Filing in Wynnewood are Gail Mayberry (Council Ward 1), Ramon Airington (Council Ward 2), J.T. Blackwood (Council Ward 3), Sonny Hays (Council Ward 4), Josh Moore (2-year unexpired term Council Ward 3), Dennis Cain (2-year-unexpired term Council Ward 4) and Beverly Badgley (City Clerk-Treasurer).

Unopposed filings in Maysville are Michael Hunter, Diana Tarrant and Charles Griffin for four-year council seats and two-year unexpired terms for Kurt Widmer (Board of Trustees) and Patricia Brahic (Town Clerk-Treasurer).

The filings in Paoli include Lesana Carter for a four-year town board seat and Marc Davis for a two-year unexpired term on the board.

Other Stratford filings are Mark Hanson and Bob McAlister for full terms on the town council and Fred Stephens for a two-year unexpired term on the council.