Pauls Valley, OK, Pauls Valley Democrat

Entertainment Reviews

Entertainment Reviews
  • Turbo Poster ‘Turbo’ finds fun formula, but too much too fast

    With a year that has so far yet to deliver an amazing animated adventure (many closer to average versus last year’s crowded field) to separate from the rest of the pack, Pixar may yet have one of the most lopsided chances for best feature if a dark horse doesn’t emerge in the fall.

    August 2, 2013 1 Photo

  • Evil Dead 2013 Poster ‘Evil Dead only enjoyable as comedy

    As much as I try not to fall into the label any particular group of films as avoidable before they leap out of the gate, I continue to struggle to this day to waste an hour or more on almost anything recently categorized as horror.

    July 31, 2013 1 Photo

  • Pacific Rim Poster 'Pacific Rim' a new standard of monster and bot excellence

    Try or not try as we might, it is far too easy to find disappointment in the release of any summer blockbuster, which does not deliver on what we perceive as perfectly meeting a promise of excellence.

    July 23, 2013 1 Photo

  • Now You See Me Poster ‘Now You See Me’ is the best kind of movie magic

    My intention after visiting the theaters these days is always to review every movie I’ve seen within no more than a week after I’ve seen it.

    July 18, 2013 1 Photo

  • Despicable Me 2 Poster ‘Despicable Me 2’ delivers minion gold, but otherwise flat

    Film trailers have without a doubt been instrumental in building up some of the best momentum for box office dollars in the past few decades, but there seems to be a struggle to either reveal too much or miss the point entirely of getting fans in a frenzy.

    July 15, 2013 1 Photo

  • Lone Ranger Poster ‘The Lone Ranger’ a gem despite box office naysayers

    We really live in quite a bizarre age when a movie can be condemned as a complete and utter financial failure before it has even had a chance to pass through the doors of theaters.

    July 9, 2013 1 Photo

  • Monsters U Poster ‘Monsters University’ scares up a meaningful prequel

    The very concept of a sequel or prequel may start often off as a well-intentioned way to continue the adventures of our most beloved characters, but the more celebrated the individuals of any given franchise are, the more slippery the slope is while trying to please an audience guaranteed to be divided.

    July 3, 2013 1 Photo

  • Man of Steel Poster ‘Man of Steel’ not for the Reeve hearted

    Aside from my own enjoyment of many strong tales where good triumphs over evil, I’ve never been 100 percent behind the concept of hero worship.

    June 21, 2013 1 Photo

  • DVD Art Warm Bodies ‘Warm Bodies’ a fresh munch on romantic comedy

    When it comes to a list of the world’s easiest jobs, I’d have to place coming up with dialogue for zombies near the top of that list.

    June 19, 2013 1 Photo

  • Escape from Planet Earth ‘Escape from Planet Earth’ crashes on planet bland

    For all of the classic adventures we’ve rooted for no less than a thousand times in all the familiar fables, I never tire of an attempt to try and flip the roles of the characters in a slightly different twist.

    June 14, 2013 1 Photo

Business Marquee

e-Edition
  • How You Want It When You Want It Today's Pauls Valley Democrat

    Now you can view and download the Democrat right to your desktop on the day the paper is published. Click here to get more information on the Democrat's e-Edition.

     

    CLICK HERE TO ACCESS THE E-EDITION SITE

     

    ATTENTION CURRENT DEMOCRAT SUBSCRIBERS TO START an e-EDITION

    e-mail request to sjohnson@pvdemocrat.com

    April 20, 2011 1 Photo 1 Link

AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Stocks
Facebook