Pauls Valley, OK, Pauls Valley Democrat

Entertainment Reviews

Entertainment Reviews
  • Planes Movie Poster ‘Planes’ much more decent chapter than “Cars” sequel

    As another summer stacked with box office milking sequels departs and is sure to leave most of them to the bargain bin of future forgettables, why not include the latest example from the empire of the mouse.

    September 3, 2013 1 Photo

  • Quartet DVD Art ‘Quartet’ full of cinematic, musical joy

    While the individuals I’ve come across in recent years may not be able to tell on the surface, beneath this goofy and energetic personality is a dude who occasionally enjoys the soothing lilt of classical music.

    August 23, 2013 1 Photo

  • 2 Guns Movie Grit, raw humor makes ‘2 Guns’ a direct hit

    While my love of just about anything film will allow me to enjoy an idea retold billions of times, there remains genre concepts which create little excitement beforehand no matter how interesting the trailer.

    August 21, 2013 1 Photo

  • Burt Wonderstone ‘The Incredible Burt Wonderstone’ transformed by wealth of talent

    There are many tales woven for an infinite number of performance venues with nothing worth remembering in its original form, but carried nonetheless by just the right cast.

    August 16, 2013 1 Photo

  • Smurfs 2 Poster ‘The Smurfs 2” getting there in story department

    One thought that comes to mind regarding my time opining various flicks in a town where two movies showing at any given time at the local theater is the maximum, there are quite a few titles for one reason or another I have seen when they would have been missed otherwise.

    August 13, 2013 1 Photo

  • The Wolverine Poster ‘The Wolverine’ further proof Jackman owns character

    With an apparent golden age of super hero movies upon us, it is easy to become a rabid fan for just about any recent character.

    August 7, 2013 1 Photo

  • Turbo Poster ‘Turbo’ finds fun formula, but too much too fast

    With a year that has so far yet to deliver an amazing animated adventure (many closer to average versus last year’s crowded field) to separate from the rest of the pack, Pixar may yet have one of the most lopsided chances for best feature if a dark horse doesn’t emerge in the fall.

    August 2, 2013 1 Photo

  • Evil Dead 2013 Poster ‘Evil Dead only enjoyable as comedy

    As much as I try not to fall into the label any particular group of films as avoidable before they leap out of the gate, I continue to struggle to this day to waste an hour or more on almost anything recently categorized as horror.

    July 31, 2013 1 Photo

  • Pacific Rim Poster 'Pacific Rim' a new standard of monster and bot excellence

    Try or not try as we might, it is far too easy to find disappointment in the release of any summer blockbuster, which does not deliver on what we perceive as perfectly meeting a promise of excellence.

    July 23, 2013 1 Photo

  • Now You See Me Poster ‘Now You See Me’ is the best kind of movie magic

    My intention after visiting the theaters these days is always to review every movie I’ve seen within no more than a week after I’ve seen it.

    July 18, 2013 1 Photo

Business Marquee

e-Edition
  • How You Want It When You Want It Today's Pauls Valley Democrat

    Now you can view and download the Democrat right to your desktop on the day the paper is published. Click here to get more information on the Democrat's e-Edition.

     

    CLICK HERE TO ACCESS THE E-EDITION SITE

     

    ATTENTION CURRENT DEMOCRAT SUBSCRIBERS TO START an e-EDITION

    e-mail request to sjohnson@pvdemocrat.com

    April 20, 2011 1 Photo 1 Link

AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Stocks
Facebook