Pauls Valley, OK, Pauls Valley Democrat

September 29, 2012

Garvin County still has a burn ban

Pauls Valley Democrat

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma — Due to recent rains, Governor Mary Fallin signed a proclamation on Friday removing 22 counties from a state-issued burn ban, effective immediately.

Thirty-three counties in Oklahoma remain under the governor’s burn ban, including Garvin County.

Another three counties in the state are under county commissioner bans.

“The long term forecast shows continued drought conditions through much of the state where the ban remains in effect, but the risk of wildfire has lessened in several areas, allowing us to reduce the burn ban coverage,” Fallin said.

“We are hopeful that rains will continue across the state to allow further reduction of the ban.”

The entire list of counties to remain under the governor proclaimed burn ban are Beaver, Beckham, Carter, Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Haskell, Jackson, Jefferson, Kay, Kiowa, Latimer, Le Flore, Love, McCurtain, Murray, Noble, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods and Woodward. County Commissioner bans are in effect for Creek, McClain and Pittsburg counties.

Gas and charcoal grilling is allowed under the ban provided that it is over a nonflammable surface and at least five feet from flammable vegetation.

Unlawful activities under the ban include open flames, campfires, bonfires and setting fire to trash, grass, woods or other materials outdoors.

“With the cooler fall temperatures and more people enjoying time outdoors there is a greater risk for wildfires by activities such as campfires, even in those counties where they are not banned,” said Oklahoma state forester George Geissler.

As part of the governor’s burn ban there are exemptions for a number of items such as welding, road construction and in some cases for agricultural reasons.

For a list of all exemptions and the latest county burn ban information visit online.