Pauls Valley Chamber of Commerce

Pauls Valley Chamber of Commerce

When the annual Pauls Valley Chamber of Commerce banquet is held in just a few days a couple of special honors will still be a mystery.

Every year the local chamber presents the honors of citizen and corporate citizen of the year.

Returning to a tradition of days gone by the 2013 honorees, as selected by past winners, won’t be announced until the banquet.

Chamber President Della Wilson said the timing of the announcements was the decision of those making the selections only days ago.

“For now it’s concealed,” Wilson said about the names of this year’s honorees.

“The past winners decided not to announce the winners right now,” she said. “The names of those winners will be announced the night of the banquet.”

The banquet itself is scheduled to get underway at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, June 13 at the Bosa Community Center.

Last year’s honorees, Richelle Humphrey as the Citizen of the Year and the Garvin County News Star and Jeff Shultz as the Corporate Citizen of the Year, were announced the same day as their selections.

For many previous years that wasn’t the case as the winners were announced at the banquet.

“That’s really been the tradition for those honors,” Wilson said.

“They haven’t done that the last few years,” she said. “They decided to go back to the tradition.”

The selections for this year’s honorees came during a meeting on May 30.

Nominees for Citizen of the Year should be a PV resident for at least two years, be involved in more than one community activity and have contributed to the “greater good of the community.

Other recent honorees were Brent Grimmett in 2011, Billie Hays in 2010, Cathy Agee in 2009, Jack Grimmett Jr. in 2008 and Jeff Shultz in 2007.

Corporate nominees should bring a greater social responsibility into the business world, be involved in community projects and events, be strong in community relations, have the ability to mobilize people and groups to address community issues and impact “positive change” in the community.

Other recent corporate honorees were the Garvin County Community Living Center and Cathy Cash in 2011, LA Jacobson, Inc. and Bert and Lorin Jacobson in 2010, Wal-Mart Distribution Center and Supercenter and Jay Boyles and Mark Deisering in 2009, Curwood and Allen Eubanks in 2008, Pauls Valley National Bank and Jack Grimmett Jr. in 2007 and Covercraft Industries and Marty Lichtmann in 2006.

Trending Video

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you